Image default

Soul Train Set to Honor Xscape During This Year’s Award Ceremony

This year’s Soul Train Awards is giving Xscape their flowers, honoring the group with the Lady of Soul Award.

On Friday, BET announced its plans to collectively give Kandi Burruss, Tameka “Tiny” Harris, Tamika Scott, and LaTocha Scott the honor, celebrating their nearly three decades in R&B. The supergroup has spawned classics such as “Understanding,” “Just Kickin’ It” and “Who Can I Run To?”

Despite breakups and fallouts in the past, much of which was documented in their Bravo mini-series, “Still Kickin’ It,” the group has always found themselves back on stage together. Kandi has been a long-running cast member on “Real Housewives of Atlanta,” while Tiny has embarked on her own reality TV endeavors with shows “Tiny & Toya” and “The Family Hustle.” Nevertheless, they’ve never strayed too far from their fans.

Xscape said they are “so thankful” to be receiving this year’s Lady of Soul Award, considering how instrumental Soul Train has been in their lengthy musical career. In 1994, they were nominated for Soul Train’s Best R&B New Artist Award and again in 1996 for R&B/Soul Album of the Year by a Group, Band, or Duo for their album “Off the Hook.” That same year, the ladies won the Lady of Soul Award along with MC Lyte for her record “Keep On, Keepin’ on (Version 2).” Since this win, the Lady of Soul Award has evolved, now designated as the award ceremony’s highest honor of the night for acts demonstrating longevity and grace in the realm of soul and R&B.

The 2022 Soul Train Awards will premiere on Sunday, November 27th at 8:00 p.m. on BET and BET Her.

Source link

Related posts

‘Yu-Gi-Oh!’ Creator Kazuki Takahashi Died While Trying To Save People From Drowning

Nancy Coffee

Air Taxis to Soon Offer 10-Minute Flights Between Newark and NYC

Nancy Coffee

Beginning this Fall, the Biden Administration Will No Longer Purchase COVID Vaccines, Treatments, and Tests

Nancy Coffee